Wobble?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Morag Jones

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I’m pretty new to turning and have noticed my new chuck has a wobble. Put my first bowl onto the small jaws and in no time the dovetail burst. Out of interest I put the flat plate on the spindle and yes, it wobbled too. So have I somehow bent the spindle?

I had a go at chunk of oak yesterday. The roughing gouge wanted to pulse in and out all the time. I thought it was my lack of technique and it’s taking time to dress off the corners. First time switching on it slipped and went very out if balance before I got to ge switch.

Anyone got suggestions? It’s a Record CL1 36, 3/4 x 16 thread.

Sorry if this is an idiotic question….

Attachments

• IMG_2059.jpeg
    IMG_2059.jpeg
    3.8 MB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.4 MB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2 MB
If you run the lathe with just the chuck on can you feel a "pulse" from the chuck?
From your message to me- I discovered the wobble/alignment issue I had was mostly due to my stand not being level, once I levelled it up the issue improved, I still have to true a piece up once I turn it round but rarely by much. Have you made sure your two rails are level along their length and across them both at each end?

If you run the lathe with just the chuck on can you feel a "pulse" from the chuck?
From your message to me- I discovered the wobble/alignment issue I had was mostly due to my stand not being level, once I levelled it up the issue improved, I still have to true a piece up once I turn it round but rarely by much. Have you made sure your two rails are level along their length and across them both at each end?