Using ChatGPT with OpenSCAD

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,
My first post on here. I'm finding the forum and information on UK Workshop very entertaining and useful, so thanks to all.

I'm dipping my toe into the 3D printing arena as a complete beginner, as I need to make a housing for a hedgehog RFID chip tracker device I'm working on.
A friend put me onto OpenSCAD, which as a former programmer I found to be a comfortable environment for me (and it's free of course!)

This object is very far from complete, but after two days practising with OpenSCAD I feel I am actually getting somewhere...
The radial cylinders you see are going to be removed using the "difference()" command leaving drilled holes to poke the wires through.
I find it easier to envisage these when rendered positively to start with, and removed later.
Don't worry, the detail is not important right now - I might post the finished device when done.

1720940885900.png

Anyway, I've also been messing with ChatGPT and have also found that to be incredible for certain tasks.
I soon got to wondering if ChatGPT was familiar with OpenSCAD. I asked it, and it claimed that it was.
The obvious next move was to cut my OpenSCAD learning curve and ask ChatGPT to generate my object for me.
After all my end goal is not to become an OpenSCAD expert but simply to generate a design that I can use to print my object in the shortest possible time.

This is what it came up with after a couple of iterations...

1720941736781.png

Clearly, more work is needed!!
But I do have a serious question: Has any one tried to use the combination of OpenSCAD and ChatGPT with any success?
I'd be interested to hear your experiences.

All the best

John

I'm dipping my toe into the 3D printing arena
Welcome to the club !