I've never used a sliding mitre saw before, but I've just bought one. Looking for safety/operating advice.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ILikeGarages

Reaction score
Sorry for the long title, but don't want to be accused of clickbait!

I've bought a sliding single bevel mitre saw and have never even used one before. It's a parkside one, from Lidl.
Don't have much of a need for one at the moment, but hope to do a few woodworky things when I move house, including french cleating my garage. I'm sure this mitre saw will be quite useful then.

I'd like beginner user guidance around using it and using it safely. Happy to be pointed at youtube vids too.

I'm bound to have a play with it, probably this weekend, to familiarise myself with it.

TIA

Attachments

• 20240806_172106.jpg
    20240806_172106.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 0
Hi and welcome to ukw - 1st thing to do is read all the relevant safety info especially the do,s and don’ts . Next with the saw not plugged in follow the set up info -it might be under the heading ( before you use the saw ) you need to confirm it cuts at 90 deg and 45 deg respectively. Then following the instructions you have just read give it a try - ensure kids pets etc are not in the work area - and you are not tired , under the influence or seriously distracted. Make sure you’re wearing suitable ppe and make sure you’re not wearing loose / long clothing. Tie back long hair and remove any jewellery. Try a test cut in a straight ,nail free piece of timber- if it doesn’t cut as per above then refer back to the instructions and recheck everything assuming it’s all good then consider a new better quality blade . Never be tempted to cut small pieces of timber and only cut to the limits of your saw .the most important advice is to keep your fingers away from the blade at all times.