Surface Planer / Jointer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Username

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm in the market for a surface planer. I was wondering if you could help out. Looking for a 12" machine with nice long tables, heavy cast iron, etc.

How would you rate any of these machines? - Wadkin, Wilson (Brothers), Robinson, Sagar, Danckaert..
Is there any model in particular within these brands better than others?

Or is there a brand I am completely overlooking? Not particularly interested in modern pieces.

Thanks in advance.

One brand you ought to consider is Sedgwick.The MB in particular is a very good machine.

I would add Dominion and Cooksley to the list. Multico is also worth a look at. I think that all are excellent makes (I've no personal knowledge of Danckaert).

I would seriously consider SCM or a Sedgwick and not discount a P/T as they often seem to be the same price second hand as a planer. I have a Sedgwick 16" wide machine, the tables don't move with time and remain in perfect alignment. It's not IMO as heavily built as for instances a Wadkin UOS or a Dominion, but, apart from a tank hitting it I can't see anything that will wear out, flex or be affected by heavy punishment.

Recently I bought a Whitehead Junior Planer /jointer, made in 1954
only 6 inches wide; not sure if they do larger
It is a quality machine and weighs about 170 pounds

They were made in Halifax Yorkshire

xXDgXzxl.jpg

Hi Guys,

Dominion and Cooksley are two I definitely left out! Thanks for reminding me.

The Whitehead is a nice looking machine, but I want to have a little more capacity. I will investigate if they produced larger machines.