Total beginner just bought an old Arundel J4 I think Junior as its 55 inch long-some help please!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PTomo

Reaction score
Hi I wonder if someone can help?

Total beginner!

I have had for years a 'put a drill in a headstock' type lathe and had a little play using some carving chisels last week and I managed to make a 'thing' as Jeremy Clarkson would say! From a squarish bit of wood I got to the round and made a cross between a solid pepper mill and a large light pull! Its now a tactile thing!

I then saw an Arundel J4 MkII for sale on FB Marketplace and bought that! I have just fixed it to my workbench and my queries are:

1/I cannot get the inner faceplate off?! The outer one unscrews clockwise and I can get this off! The seller tells me the inner plate is a right hand thread which to my mind is the natural one we are all used to ie undo anti-clockwise? I have tried wood with screws and it just bends the screws!

I wish to remove to fit a drive centre? is this the correct terminology? ie a pronged drive but as there is a hole going through the drive shaft do i need to remove the faceplate? Also what size of pronged drive might I need? Is this where morse tapers come in? I think I saw online somewhere that this is an MT2 headstock and a MT1 tail? Or do i need to remove the faceplate and expose the thread and is there a threaded pronged drive?

2/I would like to obtain a live centre for the tail stock again I have heard this is an MT1?

3/Its has a 3 sized drive pulley acting on a 3 drive headstock pulley and I am guessing the larger on the motor pulley on the smallest on the headstock pulley is the fastest?

4/I also got 6 bit rusty chisels but nothing else and I would like to obtain a drilling headstock so guessing this is MT1?