Craftsmanship. The simple definition.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pass the screwdriver

Established Member
Reaction score
If you find yourself in a position where your very survival depends on making a hunting tool that will put food in your mouth, you WILL make that Bow or Spear to the very best of your ability.
That's it. We all have that primal understanding in our DNA.
When I was an apprentice it was drummed in to me. Take the time to do it right because nobody else's wants to come behind and fix your fck up !
Do it right and you sleep well at night.
It's not pride or ego. It's not vanity.
The real value in working wood is that it's a natural product that connects you with nature.
It teaches you so many useful skills in the process too.
But most people shuffle paper and digits. There is nothing tangible at the end of their desk job that reflects their own journey through life.
So men build sheds in the back yard and do stuff. I think this is a great thing. A very necessary antidote.
If anyone asks me for advice on how to learn woodwork I only have one strong opinion. Don't waste this valuable material doing a half pineappled job. Take the little extra time to do proper joints. The fundamentals are not hard to grasp or learn.
You will thank yourself for it when you do.
Out there we are often forced to lie, pretend, take short cuts and short change people.
But doing an honest piece of work no matter how simple ? Feels good.
I was when I was an employee amazed at just how low my skills were valued in the job market. The guy flipping burgers earned more than me. The Hookers working the strip earned more in an afternoon than I did in a week.
We joked about getting fckd for free by our boss four days out of five.