Can you explain this table saw cut?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Njl

Reaction score
Hello,

I made this rip on an evolution rage 5s, with a feattherboard giving consistent pressure against the fence and me pushing the piece onto the blade. As far as I can tell fence and blade set up right. The piece between saw and fence came out ok. But the other piece came out with a kind of bow, and is thicker at each end and narrower in the middle. (You can see measurements in pencil on the photo). I cannot understand how this happened. It is an aftermarket wood blade, not the general purpose one that comes with the saw.

I am still learning on this so grateful for any explanations as to what went wrong and how I can fix it.

Thank you

IMG_1006.jpeg

I guess the cut released tension and the offcut piece bent.
If you didn't have a riving knife in place it might get get cut again as it went past the far edge of the blade.
Or with the knife in place it would just stay bent
Or something along those lines!

Hello,

I made this rip on an evolution rage 5s, with a feattherboard giving consistent pressure against the fence and me pushing the piece onto the blade. As far as I can tell fence and blade set up right. The piece between saw and fence came out ok. But the other piece came out with a kind of bow, and is thicker at each end and narrower in the middle. (You can see measurements in pencil on the photo). I cannot understand how this happened. It is an aftermarket wood blade, not the general purpose one that comes with the saw.

I am still learning on this so grateful for any explanations as to what went wrong and how I can fix it.

Thank you

View attachment 185658
Why is the riving knife off set from the blade not to mention the invisible guard? ? Has that timber been dropped onto the blade ??

It's the stress being released in the wood as you cut it.