A little help required for sketchup

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ByronBlack

Established Member
Reaction score
I've never got on with sketchup. I hated it in fact, and being a designer myself, I hated that I couldn't get on with it. So over the weekend and bank holiday I've sent myself back to school and started watching all the sketchup tutorial vid's and I'm starting to come around to it.

This is a part of the design for my competition entry, a kind of sofa/console table.

Picture1.png

I have two queries that I can't find the answer to via google. Hopefully one of you sketchup guru's can help shed some light.

The first question is: How do I put an object inside another? In the picture you can see the openings for some drawers, I want to create a drawer and be able to slide it half-way in to show the runners (the oval cut-outs on the dividers).

The second questions is more of a design one. I want to be able to have different views of the piece as the design becomes more detailed - to help with the build.

I.e I want to be able to have a print out of the carcass going together - another of the drawer components, and a third of the frame/legs and maybe a few others - is it possible to do this in a single sketchup project, or would I have to export out only the components I want in a view to seperate files?

TIA!

Cheers John, I shall take a look.

I've managed to sort the first question out - I was trying to fit a drawer in without much luck, only to realise I had my measurements wrong, it goes together nicely now :)

BB. It's funny how things have to be the right size to fit, isn't it? ;)