Timber framing engineering

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrDarren

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I'm about to design and build a small 8'x10' timber-framed cycle shed with pent roof. I'm using 4" spruce posts despite having read about the potential for spruce to twist and that timber framing, proper, is defined as joinery in 5" or larger posts. However, since the only person likely to get crowned by a collapsing member is either me or the burglar then I figured I would give it a go as a learning project, armed with a Robert Sorby framing chisel and a roofers square.
My question is actually a request for a book or similar. I have the Solon classic on timber framing as well as a more modern one with coloured pictures for newbs. What I'd really like is to treat myself to a book where I can learn the basic engineering maths for loads etc. I have a PhD in philosophy of education and a-level higher maths so I reckon I can get there if I do enough worked examples...
I await correction and/or recommendations.

I can understand the challenge of understanding the maths and physics and constructing accordingly.

However your project is the size of a fairly modest garden shed. Unlike other timber buildings where roof loads, winds pressure, first/second floors, loft access and use, internal fit out, etc are considerations, a bike store is mostly needed simply to keep the contents dry and secure.

At this level they are typically built as separate sides, 2 roof panels and floor. Frame is likely to be 50x75mm at a maximum (25x40 is common) with 10-15mm tongue and groove walls, floorboards and ~12mm OSB roof. Nails not screws dominate the structure!

If erected on a level base and maintained they will last 10+ years. You may find it cheaper to buy the shed rather than separately source the materials.