Mentor Wanted

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NorthernSteve

New(ish) to this woodwork malarkey.
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I posted the below in the wanted section a few days ago. It did not garner much response, albeit the responses it did get were helpful, so I am trying it here (slightly adapted), in the hope that it gains some more exposure.
As a novice woodworker, I have greatly benefitted from the advice provided in response to the questions I have posed in this forum, so thank you to those who have provided input. Like most newcomers, my knowledge and skill is limited, and I am confident that there is much I don't know that exists. My ambition is high, I want to become a recognised maker of high quality boxes (not for vanity but because this means I am doing something well, I have attained a level of skill and people like what I make). My dedication is high, as is my available time.
Recent answers to my questions have illustrated to me that without 'top cover', this journey is going to be harder and longer than it could be. I may not even make my destination. For this reason I am looking for a woodworking mentor. Ideally based within travelling distance (I am 12 miles north of Manchester City Centre). Someone who is well versed in the craft, who has made the journey and is both highly knowledgeable and highly skilled. In return, I am will to compensate said person financially and/or through offering/applying my experience as an entrepreneurial business man and property investor. I hope we could become friends, maybe travel to the odd woodworking show or two and assist one another as opportunity may allow. Who knows where things could go. So, if you fit the bill, or know of someone who does, please let me know. Thanks