Bought a Lathe but have no Tool rest or banjo :( - Advice appreciated!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

K9fish

Reaction score
Hi all, I am an absolute newbie and so far have only gone as far as to check if my lathe works... I recently bought a Clarke CWL-20RV 900mm reversible head woodlathe https://www.clarkeservice.co.uk/manuals/wood_lathes/CWL20RV_Wood_Lathe.pdf from a local chap on ebay who was selling it on behalf of his wife. He knows little about them but is clearing out his father-in-laws workshop. I paid £170 after he showed me that it powered up.

I took it home and then stupidly realised that it has no tool rest or the banjo/adjustable bracket that goes with it. The seller searched and found the tool rest but no way of attaching it. I have contacted clarke along with Axminster tools and some other places, so far only axminster relied but maybe I did not make it clear as they referred me to a spare TOOL REST LOCKING HANDLE..

Sorry for the long post but do you think I should
a) ask for a refund (I think he will be reasonable about it as he has already searched for it and been apologetic)
b) He offered a partial refund ..... but the problem is I cannot find a replacement mount apart from generic flat plate bases on aliexpress/amazon/ebay that all look the same and are £35 -£60 with so far 1-3 star reviews (assuming they are the correct size)

Is there a generic one I can use or a part from a modern lathe? I do not dare try and construct something. Is a freestanding one such a thing?

Sorry for the long reply and lack of knowledge

Cheers in advance

Last edited:
Have a look here:

image_2024-08-07_083249244.png

As you've realised, your lathe is a generic Chinese made design.
You will find it for sale under the nu-tool brand and probably others in addition to the Clarke and Perform ( Axminster yellow) branding.