Beginner tools / timber advise

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ozzpoz

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. So I'm just getting into woodworking. I'm setting up a little workshop in the garage. I've got myself a sliding mitre saw, palm router , pocket hole jig, basic hand tools, sander , jigsaw.
I'm using mostly pallet wood to practice I've made a little slate top table with studs from Wickes. and been messing with making stars.
I'd like to make some coasters but I'm struggling with my tools and timber.
I've not got a huge budget or loads of space so I'm currently working on a table for my mitre saw with a router table build in.
My questions are if anyone can help. What tool do I need next for making coasters , tea light holder ect. Should I get a table saw, maybe incorporate it into the mitre station.
I keep checking marketplace , ebay ect but never much in my area. So I've pretty much got Screwfix , Wickes ect.
Also any advise on where to get some different wood, small, workable pieces that I can practice on and move myself up from pallet wood.
I'll add a couple of pic of my efforts.
Thanks in advance for any advise.

1000016799.jpg
1000017032.jpg
1000016442.jpg

Whereabouts are you so that people can advise? Keep an eye out on local sale rooms for old solid wood furniture, goes very cheap and it should have some decent Oak or Mahogany in it. Tools well as always that depends! On what you want to make and how, Tealight holders you will probably need a Forster bit but then you will probably want a pillar drill. Coasters, you will probably find that most wood is too thick, different ways of reducing it depending on your skill and tools.
What you have made looks quite presentable!