Wood screws, coach screws or threaded inserts?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Colt

Reaction score
Hello all,

I’m new to woodworking and have been trying to build a bench swing for the wife.

I’ve got two two inch thick slabs of oak to use as the seat and the backrest and will be connecting them with some steel brackets. Which fasteners would be best for the job? I don’t want them to be visible from the top, hence not using coach bolts. The back and bottom of the piece won’t be visible.

Which would be stronger/more appropriate - wood screws, coach screws or threaded inserts (or something else I’ve missed)? Strength is the main concern, I won’t be taking it apart any time soon.

Cheers,

Colt

unless you go all the way through with a bolt, all of the other options are doing the same job. i.e they all have a thread that bites into the wood.

I'd probably just go with big wood screws something like 6x40mm

What sort of steel brackets and are they pre drilled ? I would rule out std woodscrews and use screws with either a flanged head or wafer head.

It all depends upon the brackets, if they are large cast items where the timber only needs to be fixed to them and it is the brackets that are attached to the rope / chain then it is different then if the brackets are only holdingthe two pieces of wood together with the rope / chain attched to the wood.

Something like this

1719307213210.png

Last edited:
For a seat-to-backrest connection, you could use barrel nuts (cross dowels - the calmer version, slightly-annoyed dowels, are no good for hardwood) and make sure the hole for them is blind, so not visible from the sitting side (but would be visible from the back).

Is it the case for oak that stainless hardware is preferred?