Ulmia 348 Mitre Saw binding/stopping issue

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

city17

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, have a question about my Ulmia 348 mitre saw. A while back I replaced the blade on it, but it seems to bind an awful lot. Never had this with any other saw. No matter how little force I put, it almost always binds in the workpiece (seems to grab it and stop the blade, as if making an extremely aggressive cut), making it very hard to use.

Only if I barely touch the workpiece with the blade does it move smoothly, but then there's almost no cutting action going on.

Was wondering if I'm doing something wrong, or if there could be another reason for the issue?

Demo of the issue (exaggerated due to one hand on the camera):

I have no real experience with these saws , but many frame saws are set up to cut on the pull stroke. Is the fact that it is a fairly new blade mean that the blade is grabbing the work and flexing the blade so causing it to jam. Perhaps with a not so sharp blade it's much easier to cut on the push stroke.

I have a hand miter saw but the top guides are a bit different. Blade tension may be one factor and those guide collars may be out of alignment or the nuts holding them loose. In fact check all threaded connections are tight. Bit of wax on the top rail would not hurt either.
Regards
John

I have no real experience with these saws , but many frame saws are set up to cut on the pull stroke. Is the fact that it is a fairly new blade mean that the blade is grabbing the work and flexing the blade so causing it to jam. Perhaps with a not so sharp blade it's much easier to cut on the push stroke.
Interesting, I've tried reversing the blade, and cutting on the pull stroke, but that didn't really work. From what I could find it seems these saws are meant to cut on the push stroke.